Tue, Mar 15, 2016 - Page 3 News List

NPP elects party chairmen, executive to be announced

By Abraham Gerber  /  Staff reporter

A new slate of party chairmen was announced by the New Power Party (NPP) yesterday following internal party elections, with the party’s executive chairman to be announced today.

In order of support, the new slate includes the party’s current executive chairman Huang Kuo-chang (黃國昌), Legislator Freddy Lim (林昶佐), director Ko I-chen (柯一正), author Neil Peng (馮光遠), Legislator Kawlo Iyun Pacidal, Lin Feng-jeng (林峰正) and author Lin Shih-yu (林世煜).

Ko and Kawlo are new additions to the slate, while former legislator Hsu Yung-ming (徐永明) and lawyer Huang Hsiu-chen (黃秀禎) chose not to stand for re-election.

The internal election followed promises by the party to hold chairmen elections after every national poll, with almost 44 percent of the party’s 2,094 members casting their ballots on 33 candidates.

Party members are eligible to vote for all approved candidates, with the seven candidates receiving the highest tally of votes forming the board.

NPP Secretary-General Chen Hui-min (陳惠敏) said a new executive chairman would be elected by the board of chairmen today to serve as the party’s official face, fulfilling the board’s primary function.

Future party decisionmaking is to be determined by a “deciding committee” composed of the elected board of chairmen and the chairs of eight internal working and policy committees, she said.

This story has been viewed 1879 times.

Comments will be moderated. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned.

TOP top