Sat, Jan 28, 2006 - Page 2 News List

Four more PFP lawmakers join KMT

By Mo Yan-chih  /  STAFF REPORTER

Four People First Party (PFP) lawmakers yesterday announced their decisions to defect to the Chinese Nationalist Party (KMT), striking another blow against the PFP, which has suffered an exodus of lawmakers and city councilors.

PFP legislators Sun Ta-chien (孫大千), Lee Yong-ping (李永萍), Lin Te-fu (林德福), and PFP Legislative Caucus Convener Chen Chih-pin (陳志彬) issued a joint statement yesterday to announce their decision to leave the party.

While the PFP has repeatedly denied that there will be an exodus of party members from the party, many legislators and Taipei city councilors have quit the party in the aftermath of its poor performance in last month's local government elections.

Key PFP figures including legislators Diane Lee (李慶安), Lin Yu-fang (林郁方) and Sun all chose to defect to their larger pan-blue ally.

A KMT spokesperson said the party had not urged the PFP legislators to defect and that it was their own decision.

This story has been viewed 3025 times.

Comments will be moderated. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned.

TOP top