Wed, Jan 29, 2014 - Page 3 News List

KMT will lose posts: poll

By Mo Yan-chih  /  Staff reporter

The Chinese Nationalist Party (KMT) would lose the reins in six of 14 municipalities and counties if the seven-in-one elections were held tomorrow, a survey released by TVBS showed.

The survey, which was conducted on 18,062 people between Nov. 18 last year and Jan. 20, showed that support for KMT candidates or aspirants in Taipei, Greater Taichung, Keelung, Chiayi and Changhua and Penghu counties lagged behind that of their Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) counterparts.

In Taipei, support for former Taipei EasyCard Corp chairman Sean Lien (連勝文) was 44 percent, while National Taiwan University Hospital physician Ko Wen-je (柯文哲) had 47 percent support, according to the survey.

The KMT’s Greater Taichung Mayor Jason Hu (胡志強) obtained a 41 percent support rating in that city, while support for DPP mayoral candidate Lin Chia-lung (林佳龍) was 48 percent, the survey showed.

Greater Tainan Mayor William Lai (賴清德) would likely win a re-election in that city, as support for him was 78 percent, while the KMT’s Su Jun-ping (蘇俊賓) had 11 percent support, it showed.

If the seven-in-one elections were held tomorrow, the KMT would lose the elections in six cities and counties. The DPP would expand its control from six municipalities and counties to 12, the survey showed.

Taipei Mayor Hau Lung-bin (郝龍斌), who is set to complete his second term, said yesterday that the overall situation is not good for the KMT and the party must spare no effort to obtain victories in this year’s elections.

Hau, who has yet to announce his re-election bid, said he will take the survey result as a reference and his efforts would not be affected.

“We do not have positive outlook, but we have no right to quit... I will continue to improve city development and help party candidates win elections,” he said.

“It’s too early to conduct surveys on elections. The most accurate poll is on the voting day, but we will take the survey as a reference,” he added.

Elections are to be held for all directly elected local government positions: mayors and councilors of the special municipalities; county commissioners and councilors; city mayors and city councilors; township administrators and councilors; and borough wardens.

The seven-in-one elections are to be held on Nov. 29.

This story has been viewed 1889 times.

Comments will be moderated. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned.

TOP top