Thu, Dec 05, 2013 - Page 3 News List

KMT finalizes four candidates for next year

By Mo Yan-chih  /  Staff reporter

The Chinese Nationalist Party (KMT) yesterday completed the nomination process for next year’s seven-in-one municipal elections for Hsinchu City and Yunlin, Taitung and Kinmen counties, with the KMT Central Standing Committee approving the candidate list.

Hsinchu Mayor Hsu Tsai-ming (許財明), Taitung County Commissioner Justin Huang (黃健庭) and Kinmen County Commissioner Li Wo-shi (李沃士) will seek re-election. Former KMT legislator Chang Li-shan (張麗善) was chosen to run for the Yunlin County commissioner job.

KMT spokesman Yang Wei-chun (楊偉中) said the party is scheduled to complete the nomination process in more difficult electoral zones next year, and will speed up the nomination process in cities and counties where the Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) has already determined its nominees.

The KMT plans to complete the second-round nominations by January, while continuing to struggle finalizing nominees in pan-green strongholds in the south

The party dismissed allegations that Chiayi Mayor Huang Min-hui (黃敏惠) will run in the Greater Tainan election against Tainan Mayor William Lai (賴清德).

For the Greater Kaohsiung mayoral race, the party plans to nominate former Kaohsiung County commissioner Yang Chiu-hsin (楊秋興).

In New Taipei City (新北市), former premier Yu Shyi-kun has won the DPP’s primary for the mayoral race. New Taipei City Mayor Eric Chu (朱立倫), a KMT member, has declined to say if he will seek an re-election.

“As mayor, my priority is to promote city development. There will be work to do when the elections approach, but now is not the time to talk about elections,” he said.

This story has been viewed 1398 times.

Comments will be moderated. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned.

TOP top