Sat, Jun 21, 2008 - Page 3 News List

Ma reveals Control Yuan nominees


Control Yuan president-designate Wang Chien-shien, right, and vice president-designate Shen Fu-hsiung, exchange words during a press conference at the Presidential Office in Taipei yesterday.


President Ma Ying-jeou (馬英九) yesterday announced a list of nominations for Control Yuan posts, with former finance minister Wang Chien-shien tapped to be head of the country’s supreme watchdog.

Ma yesterday said Wang was an upright, capable and good-hearted person whose integrity is well known and who has been devoted to social welfare and the improvement of elementary schooling for years.

Former legislator Shen Fu-hsiung (沈富雄), a renal disease physician-turned politician, was nominated to serve as Wang’s deputy.

Shen was formerly a member of the Democratic Progressive Party (DPP), but he renounced his DPP membership as he did not see eye to eye with party hardliners on major issues.

The nomination list also included former Control Yuan members like Huang Huang-hsiung (黃煌雄) and Chao Chang-ping (趙昌平). Former Taiwan Solidarity Union legislator Chien Lin Hui-chun (錢林慧君), and People First Party (PFP) Legislator Lee Fu-tien (李復甸) were also on the list.

Ma said most of the nominees were selected from among 46 hopefuls who were short-listed by a nomination task force that reviewed more than 400 recommendations and applications for the positions.

He said his choices were made based on the candidates’ professional and moral attributes, rather than on their political affiliation, expressing the hope that his nominees will make the work of Control Yuan effective, as it plays an important role in ensuring the integrity of the country’s civil servants and the quality of Taiwan’s democratization.

Ma is scheduled to refer the nomination lists to the legislature on Monday for the confirmation of Control Yuan and Examination Yuan posts, in accordance with constitutional provisions.

Because of domestic political wrangling, the Control Yuan — the country’s supreme supervisory body tasked with monitoring and arbitrating on matters concerning elected officials and senior civil servants — has been empty since the term of office of previous members expired on Jan. 31, 2005.

The then-opposition Chinese Nationalist Party (KMT)-controlled legislature repeatedly rejected then-president Chen Shui-bian’s (陳水扁) nomination list.

At a separate setting yesterday, Legislative Speaker Wang Jin-pyng (王金平) said the legislature would give its approval for the list of Control Yuan nominations proposed by the president next month.

Wang said KMT legislators, who form a majority in the legislature, will support the president’s nominees and will pass the list.

The Legislative Yuan will complete the review of Control Yuan and Examination Yuan heads and members by July 11, he said.

Some KMT legislators, however, challenged Ma’s nomination of Shen and voiced concerns about the low number of PFP members in the list.

KMT Legislator Hsieh Kuo-liang (謝國樑) said yesterday that former PFP legislators Liu Wen-hsiung (劉文雄) and Feng Ting-kuo (馮定國) were both perfect candidates for positions, criticizing Ma for failing to include pan-blue members in the list.

Additional reporting by Mo Yan-chih

This story has been viewed 2518 times.

Comments will be moderated. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned.

TOP top