Wed, Nov 21, 2007 - Page 3 News List

Registration for January elections comes to an end

By Ko Shu-ling  /  STAFF REPORTER

The Central Election Commission's (CEC) registration period for the legislative elections closed yesterday, with a record number of candidates registering for legislator-at-large seats.

Under the new "single-member district, two-ballot" system that takes effect with the January polls, voters will select 79 district legislators, including Aboriginal representatives. There will be 34 legislator-at-large seats, which will be allocated in proportion with the total votes each party receives in the second ballot.

The Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) has 71 candidates for district elections, including two Aborigines.

The Chinese Nationalist Party (KMT) and the People First Party (PFP) jointly nominated 74, including four Aborigines.

The Taiwan Solidarity Union (TSU) fielded 13 candidates. The Home Party and Taiwan Farmers' Party (TFP) each have 11 and the Third Society Party has 10.

Thirteen parties registered a total of 132 candidates for the 34 legislator-at-large slots.

The KMT-PFP and DPP topped the lists, with 34 candidates each.

They were followed by the TSU with 15, including one Aboriginal candidate, the New Party with 10 and the TFP with eight.

The Home Party has seven candidates; the Third Society Party has five; the Civic Party and the Green Party Taiwan have four each; the Taiwan Hakka Party, the Dadao Compassion Jishih Party and the Alliance for Enacting the Constitution have three each; and the Non-Partisan Solidarity Union has two.

This story has been viewed 2125 times.

Comments will be moderated. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned.

TOP top