Sun, Dec 12, 2004 - Page 5 News List

Slight shifts in political geography

The pan-green camp failed to build on its 2001 victories, and even lost a few seats


In Hualien County, DPP Legislator Lu Po-chi (盧博基) and PFP Legislator Fu Kun-chi (傅崑萁) each won a seat, continuing the balance of power at local level.

In offshore counties, independents and other candidates did well. Penghu County's sole seat was won by Lin Ping-kun (林炳坤) of the Non-Partisan Solidarity Union (NPSU). In Kinmen County, New Party Legislator Wu Cheng-tien (吳成典) kept his job. In Lienchiang County -- Matsu -- independent Chao Erh-chung (曹爾忠), a former three-term lawmaker, won.

Four Aboriginal candidates were elected in plains townships. The DPP's Chen Ying (陳瑩) became the first directly elected Aboriginal legislator. Two KMT candidates and a PFP member won. The four mountain township seats were won by two KMT candidates, one PFP member and an independent candidate.

This story has been viewed 3840 times.

Comments will be moderated. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned.

TOP top