Sun, May 18, 2008 - Page 19 News List

Canada, Russia to meet in the World Championship final


Sweden's Patrick Hornqvist, center, is flipped over the boards by Canada's Jason Chimera, left, during the first period of their World Championship semi-final in Quebec, Canada, on Friday.


Canada and Russia will meet in the final of the ice hockey World Championships after both won their semi-finals on Friday.

Rick Nash broke a 3-3 tie midway through the second period and Mike Green added another goal with seven seconds remaining, leading Canada to a 5-4 victory over Sweden.

Russia’s win was less dramatic, cruising to a 4-0 win over Finland.

Today’s final will be the first time the two ice hockey powers have met for the gold medal at the worlds.


Canada’s victory was their 17th straight at the World Championship and moved them one victory away from consecutive titles. A win today would make it four titles in six years for Canada, who have only missed one of the past five finals.

Sweden goalkeeper Henrik Lundqvist turned away eight shots in the first five minutes before Dany Heatley opened the scoring for Canada at 5 minutes, 35 seconds, his 12th tournament goal.

Anton Stralman responded with 45 seconds remaining in the period to equalize for Sweden and Niclas Wallin put the Scandinavians ahead 2 minutes, 46 seconds into the second.

But Ryan Getzlaf responded for Canada just a minute later and Jamal Mayers put Canada back in front at 8 minutes, 31 seconds. Stralman tied it 3-3 at 11 minutes, 26 seconds, but once more the Canadians responded quickly.

Nash’s goal put Canada ahead for good at 12 minutes, 29 seconds of the period and Green secured the victory.


Sergei Fedorov, Danis Zaripov, Alexei Morozov and Maxim Sushinsky were the scorers for Russia, which avenged a 2-1 semi-final loss to the Finns at last year’s World Championship in Moscow. Evgeny Nabokov made 23 saves for the shutout.

It is the Russians’ first trip to the final since 2002, when they were beaten 4-3 by Slovakia in Linkoping, Sweden. Russia have not won the tournament since 1993 and finished third last year.

Sweden and Finland will meet in the bronze medal playoff.

This story has been viewed 1648 times.

Comments will be moderated. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned.

TOP top