Sun, Nov 12, 2006 - Page 22 News List

Ramirez wins ninth Silver Slugger


Boston left fielder Manny Ramirez won his ninth Silver Slugger on Friday, while New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter and New York Mets center fielder Carlos Beltran were among 13 first-time winners.

Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano and Mets shortstop Jose Reyes also earned the honor, given to the top offensive performer at each position, for the first time.

Ramirez, who has won for eight straight seasons, is tied for third with Barry Larkin in career Silver Sluggers, trailing only Barry Bonds (12) and Mike Piazza (10).

Los Angeles Angels right fielder Vladimir Guerrero won for the sixth time and Boston designated David Ortiz earned his third, all in a row.

First-time winners in the American League included Minnesota first baseman Justin Morneau and catcher Joe Mauer, and Chicago White Sox third baseman Joe Crede and right fielder Jermaine Dye.

Washington left fielder Alfonso Soriano won his first National League Silver Slugger after winning three at second base in the AL. Florida's Miguel Cabrera won at third base after earning the honor as a left fielder last year.

NL first-time winners included Philadelphia first baseman Ryan Howard and second baseman Chase Utley, Colorado left fielder Matt Holliday, Atlanta catcher Brian McCann and Chicago Cubs pitcher Carlos Zambrano.

Beltran, Guerrero, Ortiz and Ramirez earned US$100,000 bonuses, Zambrano US$75,000, Holliday US$50,000 and Crede and Dye US$15,000 each. In addition, winning the award boosted Dye's 2007 salary by US$250,000 to $7 million.

The awards are given annually by Hillerich & Bradsby Co, the maker of Louisville Slugger bats.

This story has been viewed 1864 times.

Comments will be moderated. Keep comments relevant to the article. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned. Final decision will be at the discretion of the Taipei Times.

TOP top