Wed, Nov 10, 2004 - Page 19 News List

Michael Johnson to go into Hall of Fame


Two-time Olympic 400m champion Michael Johnson and three-time Olympic champion Jackie Joyner-Kersee led a group of 10 inductees announced on Monday for the US Athletics Hall of Fame.

Olympic marathon winner Joan Benoit Samuelson, triple jumper Michael Conley, long-retired standouts Jack Davis, Otis Davis, John Pennel and Gerry Lindgren plus coach Stan Huntsman and administrator Evie Dennis complete the lineup.

All will be inducted on Dec. 3 at Beaverton, Oregon.

Johnson owns world records at 200m and 400m. At the 1996 Atlanta Games, he became the first man to win both at the same Olympics. A win at the 2000 Sydney Games made him the only man to repeat as the Olympic 400m champion.

This story has been viewed 3741 times.

Comments will be moderated. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned.

TOP top