Fri, Apr 06, 2007 - Page 14 News List

Events & Entertainment


Lost Shadows and Oculus by Cloud Gate Theater (雲門舞集) is a performance in two parts. The first part is the world premier of British choreographer Akram Khan's Lost Shadows, and the second part of the program will be Wu Kuo-chu's (伍國柱) Oculus, a masterpiece performed by Cloud Gate 2. The untimely death of Wu in 2006 at the age of 36 was a shock to the dance world and Cloud Gate Theater director and founder Lin Hwai-min (林懷民) wanted to put on Oculus to commemorate the life of the young choreographer.

* The National Theater, Taipei

* Today and tomorrow 7:45pm

* Tickets are NT$400 to NT$2,000 and available through

2007 — Taipei Traditional Arts Festival (2007年臺北市傳統藝術季) continues its celebration of Chinese and Taiwanese traditional culture with two percussion performances. Today's performance is The Reemergence of Zheng Houyi's Tomb Music (曾候乙地官音樂再現), which is inspired by the diverse imperial musical instruments that were unearthed from the tomb of Zeng Houyi in Hubei Province. On Saturday The Eight Percussion Virtuosos Presenting a New Flare (八大錘獻新風采) combine traditional percussion techniques with modern variations.

* Taipei Zhongshan Hall (台北市中山堂), 98 Yenping S Rd, Taipei (台北市延平南路98號)

* Performances begin at 7:30pm

* Tickets are NT$200 to NT$800

The Half-Mile Great Wall (半里長城) by the Ping Fong Acting Troupe (屏風表演班) takes a humorous look at the building of the Great Wall.

* Novel Hall (新舞臺), 3-1 Sungshou S Rd, Taipei (台北市松壽路3-1號)

* Tomorrow and Sunday at 2:30pm and 7:30pm

* Tickets are NT$500 to NT$2,500 and are available through NTCH ticketing (Note: NT$500 to NT$800 tickets are already sold out)

Classical Music

Wang Jui Viola Recital VII (王瑞中提琴獨奏會七—德奧樂派經典篇). Wang is a violist of the Taipei Symphony Orchestra. Accompanied by pianist Chien Mei-ling (簡美玲), Wang will perform a program of works, including Bach's Suite in G Major, BWV 1007, Beethoven's Nocturno, Op.42, Mendelssohn's Sonata, and Hindemith's Sonata for Viola and Piano, Op. 11, No. 4.

* At the National Recital Hall, Taipei

* As of press time, NT$300 tickets are sold out, but NT$400 seats are still available through ERA ticketing

* Tonight at 7:30pm

National Symphony Orchestra Richard Strauss Cycle 7 — Also sprach Zarathustra (國家交響樂團發現理查•史特勞斯系列七—查拉圖斯特拉如是說). Also sprach Zarathustra is Struss' powerful tone poem completed in 1896 and inspired by Nietzsche's "prose-poem" of the same name. As a fervent disciple of Nietzsche's, the 28-year-old Strauss composed this tone poem to pay homage to the book. The opening of the piece, was most famously heard in Stanley Kubrick's 1968 film 2001: A Space Odyssey. Guest conductor Felix Chen (陳秋盛), will be joined in this concert by violinist Viviane Hagner as the soloist for Beethoven's Violin Concerto, Op.61. Other than Strauss' Also sprach Zarathustra, Op.30 and Beethoven's Violin Concerto, Op.61, the NSO will present Mahler's frequently performed F major "Adagietto" from his best known Symphony No.5. There will be pre-concert talks by Liu Ma-li (劉馬利) at the Hsinchu Municipal Auditorium Exhibition Hall A for the Hsinchu concert at 6:30pm tonight and by Wang Shih-chiang (王世強) in the lobby of the National Concert Hall for the Taipei concert 30 minutes prior to the concert on Sunday afternoon.

* Tonight at the Hsinchu Municipal Auditorium (新竹市文化局演藝廳), 17 Tungta Rd Sec 2, Hsinchu City (新竹市東大路二段17號) and Sunday at the National Concert Hall, Taipei

This story has been viewed 4230 times.

Comments will be moderated. Keep comments relevant to the article. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned. Final decision will be at the discretion of the Taipei Times.

TOP top