Wed, Jan 27, 2010 - Page 12 News List

Central bank reshuffles 15-member board

By Joyce Huang  /  STAFF REPORTER

The central bank yesterday reshuffled its 15-member board by appointing former finance minister Ho Chih-chin (何志欽) to a new seat.

Bank Governor Perng Fai-nan (彭淮南) remains board chairman, while Minister of Finance Lee Sush-der (李述德) and Minister of Economic ­Affairs Shih Yen-hsiang (施顏祥) retain their seats.

The new board, except for Perng, Lee and Shih, will serve a five-year term, the bank said in a press statement yesterday.

The bank’s two deputy governors, George Chou (周阿定) and Yang Chin-long (楊金龍), will serve as longstanding board members along with Ho and Liang Ming-yih (梁明義), an economics professor at National Taiwan University.

Ho replaced former board member Wen Yin-kann (溫英幹).

Eight others were reappointed, including Council of Agriculture Chairman Chen Wu-hsiung (陳武雄), state-owned Taiwan ­Cooperative Bank (合作金庫銀行) chairman Liu Deng-cheng (劉燈城) and five business professors or economists.

These five members include Casey Chuang (莊國欽), who is also chairman of Logitech Inc (邏輯電子), Wu Tsong-min (吳聰敏) and Wu Jyh-Lin (吳致寧), economics professors at National Taiwan University and Kaohsiung’s National Sun Yat-sen University respectively.

The board usually meets on a quarterly basis to set interest rates, monetary and foreign exchange policies, the bank said.

This story has been viewed 3016 times.

Comments will be moderated. Keep comments relevant to the article. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned. Final decision will be at the discretion of the Taipei Times.

TOP top