Sun, Jan 17, 2016 - Page 5 News List

ELECTIONS: ‘League’ candidates win three of eight Taipei constituencies

CAPITAL REFORM CLOUT:DPP legislative candidates Rosalia Wu and Pasuya Yao won in the capital’s first and second constituencies respectively, while New Power Party candidate Freddy Lim won in the fifth

By Chen Wei-han  /  Staff reporter

KMT Keelung legislative candidate Hau Lung-bin (郝龍斌) lost to DPP candidate Tsai Shih-ying (蔡適應) by a margin of 5.3 percent, with PFP candidate and veteran politician Liu Wen-hsiung (劉文雄) trailing far behind.

Despite having served two terms as Taipei mayor and “parachuting” into the Keelung election as KMT vice chairman, Hau lost to the DPP city councilor in a race that saw the two exchange the lead in the early hours of vote-counting.

Hau resigned as party vice chairman after conceding defeat.

DPP candidate Lu Sun-ling (呂孫綾), a first-time candidate, beat KMT Legislator Wu Yu-sheng (吳育昇) in New Taipei City’s first legislative district, topping Wu Yu-sheng by a comfortable margin of 12.4 percent and ousting the scandal-ridden politician.

DPP candidate Su Chiao-hui (蘇巧慧), daughter of former premier Su Tseng-chang (蘇貞昌), defeated KMT Legislator Huang Chih-hsiung (黃志雄) in New Taipei City’s fifth constituency by 25,223 votes, marking another win by descendants of politicians.

This story has been viewed 4204 times.

Comments will be moderated. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned.

TOP top