Sun, Dec 26, 2010 - Page 3 News List

New Cities, New Paths: Lai pledges to restore Tainan’s glory

Staff writer, with CNA

William Lai (賴清德) took the oath yesterday and was sworn in as the first mayor of the new special municipality of Greater Tainan, pledging to restore Tainan to its former glory in an effort to capitalize on its historic and cultural importance.

“We hereby welcome the new birth of this city,” he said in his inaugural speech, adding that the merger of Tainan City and Tainan County into Greater Tainan will allow the new municipality to use its unique features to transform itself into a special city.

Minister without Portfolio Ovid Tzeng (曾志朗) presided over the swearing-in ceremony of the Democratic Progressive Party’s (DPP) rising star.

In his 13-minute speech, Lai expressed his gratitude to former Tainan mayor Hsu Tain-tsair (許添財) and former Tainan County commissioner Su Huan-chih (蘇煥智) for their work during the past nine years.

However, neither Hsu nor Su made an appearance at the ceremony.

DPP Chairperson Tsai Ing-wen (蔡英文), former premier Yu Shyi-kun and former Presidential Office secretary-general Mark Chen (陳唐山) were also on hand to witness the event as special guests.

On his last day in office on Friday, Su hosted a farewell party at the County Hall and said “Tainan County” will always stay in the hearts of its residents.

Hsu, meanwhile, said he has set up an office called “Hsu Tain-tsair Office” and will continue to care for issues that pertain to people’s well-being and happiness.

Greater Tainan

Population: 1,873,919

Area: 2,191.6531km2

Budget: NT$66.2 billion

Loans: NT$37.8 billion

Allocation of funds: NT$39.161 billion

Accumulated debt: NT$80.7 billion

Mayor: William Lai (賴清德)

Deputy mayor: Yen Chun-tzuo (顏純左)

Secretary-general: Chen Mei-ling (陳美伶)

City Council seats: DPP: 27; KMT: 13; Others: 17


Greater Tainan City Government:

1) Tainan City Hall: 6, Yonghua Rd Sec 2, Anping District, Greater Tainan

2) Minjhih Building: 36, Minjhih Rd, Sinying District, Greater Tainan (the previous site of the Tainan County Government)

Greater Tainan City Council:2, Yonghua Rd Sec 2, Anping District, Greater Tainan

This story has been viewed 1817 times.

Comments will be moderated. Keep comments relevant to the article. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned. Final decision will be at the discretion of the Taipei Times.

TOP top