Tue, Jan 05, 2010 - Page 18 News List

Phil Taylor powers to 15th darts world title


Briton Phil Taylor sealed his 15th world darts championship title with a 7-3 victory over unseeded Australian Simon Whitlock at Alexandra Palace on Sunday.

World No. 1 Taylor, nicknamed “The Power,” dropped just one set on his way to the final and the Englishman was the clear favorite, although Whitlock had beaten world No. 2 Raymond van Barneveld and No. 3 James Wade.

Wales’ Mark Webster took third place, beating Van Barneveld of the Netherlands 10-8.

Taylor, who won his first world crown in 1990, was too strong for Whitlock, nicknamed “The Wizard,” who came into the tournament as an 80-1 outsider.

“It’s everything I’ve ever dreamed of ... everything I’ve practiced for,” said Taylor, 49. “That’s one of the greatest finals. That was hard work. Absolutely brilliant. I’m chuffed.”

Taylor trailed Whitlock by two sets to one but then produced a stunning recovery hitting finishes of 170, 167 and 161 in a run of five successive winning sets.

Taylor claimed a winners’ check of £200,000 (US$321,780) — the highest ever paid out in darts’ history.

This story has been viewed 2024 times.

Comments will be moderated. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned.

TOP top