Tue, Sep 28, 2004 - Page 3 News List

Surrogate New Party candidates named for election

By Caroline Hong  /  STAFF REPORTER , WITH CNA

The names of seven pan-blue legislative candidates from the New Party running under the Chinese Nationalist Party (KMT) banner in December's elections were announced yesterday.

While the seven will be running as KMT candidates, the New Party said that it would also be nominating an eighth person to run for a seat under its own banner.

The majority of New Party candidates would run for the KMT to increase the latter party's chances of winning more legislator-at-large seats, New Party Chairman Yok Mu-ming (郁慕明) said yesterday in Taipei.

Each party is awarded legislator-at-large seats based on the proportion of the national vote for that party.

By adding candidates to the KMT roster, the New Party will pass on its share of the proportional vote to the KMT.

Not dependent on the KMT

But the New Party would not rely on KMT campaign funds or other support, Yok said.

He said that the New Party is a separate entity from the KMT and that it was seeking to maintain a presence in the legislature by having one member run under the New Party banner.

That candidate will be from a small voting district and be sure to win, Yok said, leading observers to assume the candidate will be New Party Legislator Wu Cheng-tien (吳成典).

Wu, who represents Kinmen County, is the New Party's sole legislator.

Article 33 of the Legislative Yuan Organic Law (立法院組織法) says that legislators representing a party that does not receive 5 percent of the vote in a legislative election can join another party's legislative caucus or form their own caucus if there are at least eight legislators willing to do so.

Yok also said that a merger of the three pan-blue parties was inevitable.

KMT pleased

The response from the KMT was positive, with KMT Secretary-General Lin Fong-cheng (林豐正) telling reporters yesterday that he did not oppose the New Party running a candidate under its own banner, while also welcoming the seven running for the KMT.

List of nominees

The eight New Party members who will be running for the legislature are Taipei City Councilor Alex Fei (費鴻泰) and Lai Shyh-bao (賴士葆) for Taipei City, Lee Sheng-feng (李勝峰) and Joanna Lei (雷倩) for Taipei County, lawyer Chen Li-ling (陳麗玲) for Taoyuan County, journalist Chen Shu-wan (陳淑婉) for Taichung City, Lu Li-kang (盧利康) for Kaohsiung City and Wu for Kinmen.

This story has been viewed 3005 times.

Comments will be moderated. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned.

TOP top