Thu, Apr 12, 2012 - Page 20 News List

Double honor for Sangakkara


Sri Lanka batsman Kumar Sangakkara plays a shot during an Asia Cup match on March 15 between Pakistan and Sri Lanka in Dhaka, Bangladesh.

Photo: AFP

Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara has been chosen as both one of the Five Cricketers of the Year and the Leading Cricketer in the World for last year in this year’s edition of Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack, it was announced yesterday.

The 34-year-old Sangakkara, one of the outstanding batsmen of his generation and for much of his career a top-class wicketkeeper as well, became the first man to receive both awards since Wisden, the bible of cricket, started naming a leading cricketer of the year in 2004.

Last year, no one else came close to the 2,267 runs Sangakkara scored in all international cricket and he is now the only man to have topped 1,000 runs in Tests and one-day internationals in a single year on three separate occasions.

The left-hander also captained Sri Lanka to the cricket World Cup final, where they were beaten by co-hosts India in Mumbai.

Off the field, he also received worldwide praise for giving a deeply heartfelt Marylebone Cricket Club Spirit of Cricket Cowdrey Lecture at Lord’s, which caused shockwaves in his homeland when he called for the end of political interference in Sri Lankan cricket.

Sangakkara’s career Test record of more than 9,000 runs in 108 matches with 28 hundreds at an average of nearly 55 stands comparison with all but a handful of cricket’s greatest batsmen.

Wisden, published every year since 1864, is widely regarded as cricket’s leading reference work.

The Five Cricketers of the Year, chosen solely by the editor of Wisden — this year’s edition is English cricket journalist Lawrence Booth’s first as editor — is an award that dates back to 1889.

Among the other four recipients for their performances last year were the England Test duo of run-hungry opener Alastair Cook, who made 294 against India at Edgbaston, and pace bowling all-rounder Tim Bresnan, yet to be on the losing side in a Test match.

Lancashire captain Glen Chapple was also honored after leading the Old Trafford-based club to their first outright County Championship title in 77 years, as was fellow seamer Alan Richardson, who took 73 First Division wickets to help Worcestershire avoid relegation.

No one can be chosen as one of the Cricketers of the Year, based primarily on a player’s influence upon the previous English season, more than once.

This story has been viewed 1847 times.

Comments will be moderated. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned.

TOP top