Tue, May 23, 2006 - Page 20 News List

Veronica Campbell grabs 100m with fastest time of year


Wallace Spearmon defeated Jeremy Wariner in the 200m and Veronica Campbell of Jamaica won the women's 100m -- both with the fastest times in the world this year -- at the Adidas Track Classic on Sunday.

Wariner, the Olympic and world 400 champion, is stepping down to race more 200s this year with a goal of trying both distances at the 2008 Beijing Olympics. He ran a personal best of 20.19 seconds in his fourth 200 of the season, but couldn't catch Spearmon, who finished in 20.06.

"Everything fell into place," said Spearmon, the world silver medalist last year. "I was hoping to run a little bit faster, but I didn't know if the wind would be allowable."

It was, despite overcast, cool and windy conditions in front of 3,629 spectators at Home Depot Center.

Wariner tried the 200m only a couple times last year.

"I feel like I can get down to 20-flat, maybe 19, this year. I feel real comfortable and real smooth," he said. "I knew Wallace would push me to a fast time and I'd push him, so I'm real impressed with the way I ran."

Campbell's time of 10.99 also was legal. She defeated Lisa Barber, who finished in 11.06. Torri Edwards, the 2003 world champion, was third.

"I'm quite satisfied," said Campbell, the 2004 Olympic bronze medalist. "I wanted to get a quicker start. The thing was to be patient and execute no matter what start I got."

Barber was running the 100m outdoors for the first time this season after a successful indoor campaign, including the world 60m title.

"I was trying to work on my mechanics so I wouldn't hurt my hamstring," she said.

Marcus Brunson won the men's 100m from lane nine against a strong field in a personal-best 10.01. Tyson Gay was second in 10.04 and Marc Burns of Trinidad and Tobago third.

The wind derailed world champion Michelle Perry's winning time of 12.61 in the 100 hurdles. The wind was rated at 2.3, just over the allowable limit or else her time would have been the fastest in the world this year.

Jenny Adams was second and Perdita Felicien of Canada, the 2003 world champion, was third. Anjanette Kirkland, the 2001 world champion, finished fourth. Lolo Jones took a hard fall near finish line and wound up last.

Bahrain's Rachid Ramzi defeated American Bernard Lagat to win the 1,500m. Ramzi's time of 3 minutes, 32.34 seconds was the fastest ever run on American soil -- bettering Sebastian Coe's gold-medal effort at the 1984 Los Angeles Olympics.

In other women's results, Blake Russell won the 3,000m in 8:51.57, the fastest time by an American this year; Jenn Stuczynski won the pole vault; Dee Dee Trotter won the 400m; Sarah Jamieson of Australia won the 1,500m; and Sanya Richards won the 200m.

Khadevis Robinson took the men's 800m, Derrick Williams won the men's 400m hurdles, and Markos Geneti of Ethiopia won the 2 mile.

Kenya's Gilbert Okari won the 95th annual Bay to Breakers race for the second straight time on Sunday, improving on his time from last year by 29 seconds.

Okari finished the 12km race in 34:20, and pocketed US$37,000 for his victory. Tetyana Hladyr of Ukraine won the women's race with a 39:09 finish.

Organizers said 40,000 people registered for the race and about 65,000 participated.

Okari ran the fastest 10,000m in the world in 2004.

This story has been viewed 3127 times.

Comments will be moderated. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned.

TOP top