Wed, May 02, 2012 - Page 2 News List

Media watchdog faces a shake-up of key players

By Shih Hsiu-chuan  /  Staff reporter

The Executive Yuan has nominated Howard Shyr (石世豪), a professor in the Institute of Financial and Economic Law at National Dong Hwa University, as chairperson of the National Communications Commission (NCC), to replace Su Herng (蘇蘅), whose term expires at the end of July.

Shyr served as vice chairperson and spokesperson of the seven-seat NCC during the commission’s first term from 2006 to 2008.

Yu Hsiao-cheng (虞孝成), a professor at the Institute of Management of Technology at National Chiao Tung University, was nominated to succeed Chen Jeng-chang (陳正倉) as vice chairperson of the NCC.

Peng Shin-yi (彭心儀), a professor and director at the Institute of Law for Science and Technology at National Tsing Hua -University, and Chen Yuan-ling (陳元玲), director and general manager of the Integral Investment Holdings Group, were also nominated as members of the NCC.

Chen Jeng-chang, as well as NCC members Weng Hsiao-ling (翁曉玲) and Chung Chi-hui (鍾起惠), will also complete their terms at the end of July.

The nominations are pending legislative confirmation.

Su recently confirmed to lawmakers that NCC members Chang Shi-chung (張時中) and Wei Shyue-win (魏學文), two of the four NCC members tasked with reviewing the controversial bid by Want Want China Broadband to acquire 11 cable television services owned by China Network Systems (CNS), were considering resigning.

The terms of service for Chang, Wei and NCC member Liu Chorng-jian (劉崇堅) are scheduled to end at the end of July 2014.

This story has been viewed 2787 times.

Comments will be moderated. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned.

TOP top