Thu, Dec 23, 2010 - Page 3 News List

Chen Chu selects new Kaohsiung administrative team

By Flora Wang  /  Staff reporter, with CNA

Kaohsiung Mayor Chen Chu (陳菊) yesterday announced the members of her new administrative team for Greater Kaohsiung, the new special municipality that will be formed by the merger of Kaohsiung City and County on Saturday.

Six of the 10 officials are from the Kaohsiung County Government, including Civil Affairs Bureau Director Chiu Chih-wei (邱志偉), Agriculture Department Director Ko Shan-yu (柯尚余), Secretary-General Chen Tsun-yung (陳存永) and Department of Budget, Accounting and Statistics Director Chen Su-hui (陳素惠).

Deputy Kaohsiung Mayor Lee Yung-te (李永得) will stay on, Chen Chu said, while former Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) Legislator Chen Chi-yu (陳啟昱) and former Executive Yuan secretary-general Liu Shih-fang (劉世芳) will fill the other two deputy mayor posts.

Chen Chi-yu, who represented the Daliao (大寮), Renwu (仁武), Linyuan (林園) and Niaosong (鳥松) townships in Kaohsiung County, resigned his seat yesterday. His resignation means a by-election must be held within three months to fill the seat under the Civil Servants Election and Recall Act (公職人員選舉罷免法).

Several hopefuls are reportedly eyeing the seat from both the Chinese Nationalist Party (KMT) and the DPP, including former DPP lawmakers Lin Tai-hua (林岱樺) and Yen Wen-chang (顏文章).

This story has been viewed 1835 times.

Comments will be moderated. Keep comments relevant to the article. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned. Final decision will be at the discretion of the Taipei Times.

TOP top