Wed, Sep 16, 2009 - Page 2 News List

Winners of Presidential Culture Awards announced

COMMUNITY SERVICE This year’s recipients include Cardinal Paul Shan, retired literature professor Chi Pang-yuan and the Good Shepherd Social Welfare Services


Cardinal Paul Shan (單國璽), who has been traveling around Taiwan to encourage the disadvantaged since he had a bout with lung cancer three years ago, and a professor of literature were among the winners of the fifth Presidential Culture Awards announced by the National Cultural Association (NCA) on Monday.

Shan, 85, said he was honored to receive this year’s Presidential Peace Award.

Association secretary-general Yang Tu (楊渡) said Shan won the prize for his contributions to peace and ethnic harmony.

The Roman Catholic cardinal took part in a televised discussion with the Dalai Lama during the exiled Tibetan spiritual leader’s visit to Taiwan earlier this month to console victims of Typhoon Morakot.

Another notable winner was Chi Pang-yuan (齊邦媛), a National Taiwan University professor emeritus, who has played a leading role in introducing Taiwanese authors to the Western world by translating their works.

Chi, who is also 85, is a prolific writer and translator. She recently published a 250,000-character autobiography that follows modern China’s tumultuous changes and Taiwan’s development after 50 years of Japanese colonial rule.

The 85-year-old author said she has no regrets in her life.

Meanwhile, the Good Shepherd Social Welfare Services, an organization of Catholic nuns that helps teenage victims of prostitution as well as women and children who fall prey to rape, domestic violence, delinquency and truancy, was honored for its devotion to public service.

The Paper Windmill Cultural Foundation, famous for its theater performances for children in remote rural and offshore regions, was honored for promoting artistic education among children in innovative and creative ways.

The presentation ceremony will take place on Nov. 1 at the Lin Family Garden in Taichung’s Wufeng Township (霧峰), a national historic relic.

President Ma Ying-jeou (馬英九) will hand out the trophies and certificates to the winners, who will each receive NT$1 million in prize money.

This story has been viewed 2654 times.

Comments will be moderated. Keep comments relevant to the article. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned. Final decision will be at the discretion of the Taipei Times.

TOP top