Mon, Dec 20, 2004 - Page 3 News List

President names new leaders for Control Yuan

By Jewel Huang  /  STAFF REPORTER

Chang Chien-pang, nominated as president of the Control Yuan.


President Chen Shui-bian (陳水扁) last night nominated Senior Adviser to the President Clement Chang (張建邦) as the new president of the Control Yuan and Michael Hsiao (蕭新煌), a national policy adviser to the president, as the new vice president.

Presidential General-Secretary Su Tseng-chang (蘇貞昌) is slated to submit the nomination as well as the name list of the 27 members of the Control Yuan to Legislative Speaker Wang Jin-pyng (王金平) today.

Chang, 75, is a member of the Chinese Nationalist Party and a founder of Tamkang University.

Chang served as Speaker of the Taipei City Council from 1981 to 1989 and was Minister of Transportation and Communication from 1989 to1991.

Hsiao, 56, is a researcher at Academia Sinica as well as a professor of Sociology at National Tai-wan University. He has no party affiliation.

The DPP legislative caucus voiced support for the nominations.

"President Chen's nomination is proper and we hope the opposition can also support the candidates," DPP legislative caucus whip Tsai Huang-liang (蔡煌瑯) said.

This story has been viewed 3448 times.

Comments will be moderated. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned.

TOP top