Sat, Nov 27, 2004 - Page 4 News List

Control Yuan to get new members

NOMINATION PROCESS The preliminary stage of Vice President Lu's recommendation panel screened new Control Yuan candidates. Finalists must be OK'd by Chen


Vice President Annette Lu yesterday displays the DPP's recommendation letter, which suggests that Legislative Speaker Wang Jin-pyng be named the next Control Yuan president.


Vice President Annette Lu (呂秀蓮) said yesterday that a total of 188 hopefuls have been recommended for a fourth term in the Control Yuan, the nation's highest watchdog body.

Among the candidates, 107 were self-recommended, 63 were recommended by professional or social groups, and 18 are incumbent ombudsmen who have expressed interest in serving another six-year term in the Control Yuan. Lu added that the candidates include 170 males and 18 females.

The new ombudsmen recommendation panel, headed by Lu, began to accept reference letters Nov. 5 and stopped accepting referrals Nov. 24.

Judging from the number of recommendation letters received during the period, Control Yuan seats are still held in high esteem, according to Lu.

Lu also said the recommendation panel will screen all reference letters in two stages. In the preliminary stage, 60 candidates will be selected from the 188 hopefuls. In the second phase, 40 candidates will be chosen from the 60 short-listed names.

The list of 40 finalists will then be presented to President Chen Shui-bian (陳水扁) for his reference in nominating candidates for Control Yuan seats, Lu said. Chen is expected to nominate candidates for 27 Control Yuan seats, as well as for the Control Yuan presidency and vice presidency by mid-December.

Lu said the recommendation panel will abide by the principles of openness, impartiality and fairness in choosing the finalists.

Neither the Presidential Office nor the Executive Yuan have recommended anyone, Lu stressed, adding that the president himself has also not made any recommendations.

During the news conference, Lu displayed a recommendation letter from the Democratic Progressive Party's (DPP) legislative caucus, suggesting that incumbent Legislative Yuan President Wang Jin-pyng (王金平) be named the next Control Yuan head.

However, Lu said, the recommendation panel will not deal with the DPP recommendation because it is the president's right to decide candidates for the Control Yuan presidency and vice presidency.

Wang, a vice chairman of the opposition Chinese Nationalist Party (KMT), is seeking re-election in the Dec. 11 legislative elections and has publicly dismissed the DPP recommendation as an ill-motivated "joke." He said he has no interest in the top Control Yuan post.

According to Lu, the hopefuls include incumbent and former elected representatives, as well as retired officials, business executives, celebrities, artists, accountants, medical doctors and elite members from other professional fields.

"Among the hopefuls are many former officials and elected representatives from the pan-blue alliance of the KMT and the People First Party," Lu added.

Members of the recommendation panel include: incumbent Control Yuan President Fredrick Chien (錢復); Presidential Office Secretary-General Su Tseng-chang (蘇貞昌); Clement Chang (張建邦), a senior adviser to the president; Michael Hsiao (蕭新煌), a national policy adviser to the president; and Nita Ing (殷琪), chairwoman of the Taiwan High Speed Railway Co, who is also an adviser to the president.

Chien has made clear that he will retire from public service after his current tenure expires.

The new Control Yuan members will assume office on Feb. 1, 2005.

This story has been viewed 3333 times.

Comments will be moderated. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned.

TOP top