NHL: Blackhawks secure Presidents’ Trophy


Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - Page 18

The Chicago Blackhawks secured the NHL’s Presidents’ Trophy — awarded to the team with the best regular-season record — for the first time in 22 years with a 4-1 victory over the Edmonton Oilers on Wednesday.

Patrick Kane had a goal and two assists for the Blackhawks, who held off the Pittsburgh Penguins for the best record.

In the other key result, the Detroit Red Wings beat the Los Angeles Kings to move into the playoff placings in the Western Conference.

Chicago’s Jonathan Toews, Patrick Sharp and Johnny Oduya also scored for the Blackhawks, who lost goaltender Ray Emery to injury in the first period.

Nail Yakupov scored for the Oilers, who lost for the ninth time in 10 games.

Detroit’s Jordin Tootoo netted early in the third period, and Johan Franzen scored with 6:26 left, lifting the Red Wings to a 3-1 win over the Kings.

Detroit are one point ahead of Columbus and one behind seventh-place Minnesota. All three teams have two games left.

The Red Wings are aiming to extend their postseason streak to 22, the longest in North American professional sports.

Detroit’s Pavel Datsyuk scored a game-tying goal midway through the second period.

Kyle Clifford scored the lone goal for the defending Stanley Cup champion Kings, who hope to finish fourth and earn home-ice advantage in the first round of the playoffs.

Phoenix goalie Mike Smith stopped 33 shots, as the Coyotes beat San Jose 2-1, preventing the Sharks from moving up in the Western Conference standings.

Tampa Bay’s Martin St Louis scored three goals as the Lightning snapped a six-game losing streak with a 5-2 win over the Toronto Maple Leafs.