Fri, Jun 26, 2015 - Page 19 News List

Montreal’s Price wins four NHL awards


Canadiens goaltender Carey Price poses with the Jennings Trophy, the Vezina Trophy, the Ted Lindsay Trophy and the Hart Memorial Trophy after winning all four at the NHL Awards at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada, on Wednesday.

Photo: AFP

Montreal Canadiens goaltender Carey Price, who backstopped his club’s best regular season in 26 years, won four top honors on Wednesday at the NHL Awards ceremony, including the league’s Most Valuable Player.

The 27-year-old Canadian led the NHL with 44 wins, a 1.96 goals-against average and a 93.3 save percentage, becoming the first goaltender to pace the league in all three categories since Ed Belfour in the 1990-1991 season.

Price also broke the Montreal record for wins in a season, the 42 set by Jacques Plante in 1955-1956 and matched by Ken Dryden in 1961-1962.

In addition to the Hart Trophy as MVP, Price won the Vezina Trophy as the top NHL goaltender, the Ted Lindsay Award as most outstanding player and the Jennings Trophy as the goaltender for the club who allowed the fewest goals in the season, an award he shared with Chicago’s Corey Crawford after the Canadiens and Chicago each allowed a league-low 189 goals.

No goaltender had ever swept the four awards.

The Canadiens won 50 out of 82 games and finished on 110 points, second in the Eastern Conference and overall NHL season standings with their biggest points run since 1988-1989.

Price had 1,498 points and 139 first-place ballots in Hart voting by a media panel to defeat Russian runner-up Alex Ovechkin of Washington on 888, with John Tavares of the New York Islanders third on 739. Price dominated Vezina voting by team general managers with 144 points to 60 for Finnish runner-up Pekka Rinne of Nashville.

No goaltender had won the Hart MVP award since Montreal’s Jose Theodore in 2002 and Price is only the seventh netminder to do so in NHL history.

Ovechkin was named to his seventh NHL First team All-Star squad, being joined by first-time selections Price, Tavares and Philadelphia right wing Jakub Voracek plus second-time defensive selections Erik Karlsson of Ottawa and P.K. Subban of Montreal.

Calgary’s Bob Hartley won the Jack Adams Award as the NHL’s best coach, while Czech left wing Jiri Hudler of the Flames won the Lady Byng Trophy for sportsmanship and skill. They helped the Flames win 45 games and finish on 97 points to claim their first playoff spot since 2009.

In the tightest vote of the night, Boston’s Patrice Bergeron took the Frank Selke Trophy as the top NHL defensive forward for the third time in four years, edging Jonathan Toews of Stanley Cup winners Chicago by 1,083 to 1,051. Bergeron led the NHL in face-offs, face-offs won and face-off win percentage.

Chicago captain Toews received the NHL Leadership Award for service to charity and community.

Tampa Bay’s Steve Yzerman, a former star player with Detroit, won the NHL General Manager of the Year Award after the Lightning’s run to the NHL finals.

In the closest three-way voting fight, Florida’s Aaron Ekblad won the Calder trophy as the NHL’s top rookie by 69 points over Ottawa’s Mark Stone, with Calgary’s Johnny Gaudreau third. Canada’s Ekblad, last year’s top draft pick, scored 12 goals and set up 27 others.

The NHL’s All-Rookie Team included Ekblad, Stone, Gaudreau plus Nashville forward Filip Forsberg, St Louis goaltender Jake Allen and Dallas defenseman John Klingberg.

Ottawa’s Karlsson won his second career Norris Trophy as top defenseman. The 2012 winner led all NHL defenders in scoring for the third time in four years.

Minnesota goaltender Devan Dubnyk received the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy for perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication.

Comments will be moderated. Keep comments relevant to the article. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned. Final decision will be at the discretion of the Taipei Times.

TOP top