Thu, Nov 05, 2009 - Page 18 News List

Cricket teams gear up for Taiwan Sixes

By Richard Hazeldine  /  STAFF REPORTER

Pakistan Cricket Club Taiwan players celebrate their victory in the 2008 Taiwan Annual Cricket Sixes tournament in Taichung last year.


The biggest tournament of the domestic cricket season so far will take place this weekend with 10 teams set to participate in the Taiwan Annual Cricket Sixes in Chiayi.

The 10 teams taking part are the Pakistan Badshahs A and B squads, Taiwan Southerners Cricket Club (TSCC) A and B, Formosa Cricket Club (FCC), Pakistan Cricket Club Taiwan (PCCT), the Taiwan Swingers, the Ex-Bats, the Hsinchu Scunners and newcomers the King’s Eleven, with PCCT looking to defend the title they won last year.

Play gets under way at 9am on Saturday with the first two games of the round robin stage, with TSCC A playing the King’s Eleven and FCC taking on TSCC B. Saturday’s play will end with an invitational game scheduled to begin at 5:30pm.

The knockout stages will commence at 9am on Sunday, with the title decider beginning at 3:20pm.

For those interested in catching some of the action, all games will take place at the Junsan Softball Field (軍三慢速壘球場) at the intersection of Sinmin Road (新民路) and Shihjian Road (世堅路).

This story has been viewed 2546 times.

Comments will be moderated. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned.

TOP top