Mon, Aug 10, 2009 - Page 19 News List

‘Bullet Bob’ among players inducted into Hall of Fame


Bruce Smith of the Buffalo Bills is introduced at the NFL Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio, on Saturday.


The late Bob Hayes, whose lightning speed won him fame on Olympic tracks and in NFL stadiums, was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday.

Hayes was enshrined with four other players — defensive end Bruce Smith, defensive back Rod Woodson, guard Randall McDaniel and the late linebacker Derrick Thomas — along with Buffalo Bills owner Ralph Wilson during ceremonies at Canton, Ohio.

Hayes, known as “Bullet Bob,” caught 371 career passes for 7,414 yards and 71 touchdowns in an 11-year NFL career at wide receiver.

Before joining the Dallas Cowboys he won gold medals in the 100m and 4x100m relay at the 1964 Tokyo Olympics. He died in 2002 at age 59.

“He was so fast, they did not have an answer for him,” Hayes’ son, Bob Jr, said in introductory remarks.

Wilson founded the Bills in 1959. His teams won back-to-back AFL titles in the 1960s and later became the only franchise to play in four consecutive Super Bowls.

Smith, the NFL’s all-time leader with 200 career sacks, was the first pick by Buffalo in the 1985 draft and went on to become a nine-time All-Pro.

Woodson intercepted 71 passes that he returned for 1,483 yards and 12 touchdowns, both league records. Among many honors, he was a member of the NFL’s 75th anniversary team in 1994.

This story has been viewed 1553 times.

Comments will be moderated. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned.

TOP top