Wed, Sep 12, 2007 - Page 19 News List

Ponting honored by ICC

ON TOP OF THE WORLD: The Australia captain received the awards for the cricketer of the year and the captain of the year on the eve of the Twenty20 world championships


Australia's Ricky Ponting holds his trophies for cricketer of the year and captain of the year at the ICC Awards in Johannesburg on Monday.


Ricky Ponting's Australia received a boost ahead of the Twenty20 world championships starting yesterday when his team swept four of the five top ICC awards.

Ponting himself won two, the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the cricketer of the year and the captain of the year award at a formal ceremony held at the Sandton Convention Centre on Monday night.

Matthew Hayden was named the one-day player of the year and fast bowler Shaun Tait, who missed out on the Twenty20 event due to injury, won the emerging player's award.

Australia picked up a fifth award away from the players when Simon Taufel was declared the best umpire for the fourth year in a row.

Prolific Pakistan batsman Mohammad Yousuf prevented an Australian clean sweep by bagging the Test player of the year ward for scoring 944 runs in 10 innings at 94.40 during the voting period of August last year to August this year.

Ponting, who was voted player of the year for the second successive year, said he was honored to be feted by the cricket world.

"It's more of an eventful night than I thought it would be and I am honored," said Ponting. "It's a great achievement and something I will probably look back on this with a lot of pride."

Ponting led Australia to an Ashes whitewash, Champions Trophy victory and a third consecutive World Cup title during the past year.

"I was happy with the way I have gone about things during the past year and I think we have lifted ourselves to a new level as a team," Ponting said. "It has been an unbelievable 12 months of cricket and we should all be very proud with what we have achieved."

Ponting said he was looking forward to the Twenty20 tournament where Australia are placed in Group B alongside England and Zimbabwe.

"It would be nice to add another one to the cupboard but it is going to be a very open competition," he said.

Yousuf, who has been banned by Pakistan for joining the rebel Indian Cricket League, said he was delighted to be named the Test player of the year.

"This is the first time for a Pakistan player to win this award so I am particularly delighted with that," the 33-year-old said in a video message from Lahore.

"I thank Allah and my Pakistan team-mates. I also want to thank the ICC panel for voting for me," he said.

Mahela Jayawardene's Sri Lanka won the Spirit Of Cricket award, while Thomas Odoyo of Kenya was named the player of the year among non-Test nations.

Indian seamer Jhulan Goswami picked up the women's player of the year award, making up for the absence of any male compatriot among the nominees.

"It is special to win the award because none of our stars had been nominated," Goswami said. "I hope this award will give a fillip to the women's game in India."

This story has been viewed 1769 times.

Comments will be moderated. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned.

TOP top