Tue, Oct 10, 2006 - Page 18 News List

The `Oranje' claim field hockey Cup

ORANGE BLOSSOM The Netherlands outplayed Australia and finished on top for its first title since 1990, while Argentina routed Spain to finish third


Players of The Netherlands team pose with the trophy after defeating Australia in the final of the Women's Field Hockey World Championships at the Club de Campo in Madrid, Spain, on Sunday. The Netherlands won 3-1.


The Netherlands won the women's field hockey World Cup for the seventh time with a 3-1 win over Australia on Sunday.

Maartje Paumen scored twice and Sylvia Karres -- the tournament's top scorer -- grabbed her sixth goal to snap a two-game losing streak at major finals for the "Oranje."

It was the Netherlands' first world title since 1990.

The Dutch took the lead in the 41st on Paumen's penalty corner before Jennifer Saunders leveled for Australia -- the 2000 Olympic champions -- on a penalty shot six minutes later.

Karres struck in the 55th and Paumen's penalty in the 67th completed the Dutch win.

Top-ranked Netherlands controlled the game through 35 minutes -- firing seven shots to just one by the Hockeyroos -- and virtually eliminating Australia forward Wendy Beattie and captain Nikki Hudson from the game.

In the 30th, Eefke Mulder intercepted a careless Australian clearance, and her shot from outside the area appeared to be deflected into the top corner by Karres. A video review showed it was deflected off an Australian stick and the goal was denied.

Australia goalkeeper Rachel Imison denied the Netherlands on back-to-back penalty corners after the overturned goal.

The Oranje finally scored in the 41st, when Paumen's wrist shot from a second straight penalty corner went through a crowd and past Imison.

The Netherlands goalie Lisanne de Roever denied Australia a scoring chance off a penalty corner six minutes later. Defender Paumen was ruled to have kept Beattie's rebound shot out of goal with her leg, and the Hockeyroos were given a penalty.

Saunders calmly slotted to the right of De Roever, as Australia looked to come from behind for its first world title since 1998.

In the 55th, Karres jumped on a loose ball in the area and, streaking to the left, slapped a backhand shot past Imison inside the near post.

Paumen atoned for her penalty by scoring her own penalty in the 67th.

Earlier, Argentina -- which won the title in 2002 -- routed Spain 5-0 to finish third. Maria de la Paz Hernandez led the barrage with a first half hat-trick, while Marine Russo and Alejandra Gulla's strikes in the 51st and 53rd completed the win.

Spain's only consolation on the day: captain Nuria Camon Farell was named the tournament's most valuable player.

Chloe Rogers and Rachel Walker scored to give England a 2-1 win over Olympic champions Germany, and a seventh-place finish. Maike Stoeckel scored Germany's lone goal in the 43rd.

This story has been viewed 3969 times.

Comments will be moderated. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned.

TOP top