Thu, Jul 20, 2006 - Page 19 News List

Butch James rushed to New Zealand as White rejigs line-up


Meyer Bosman and Butch James have been bracketed at flyhalf in the South African team named yesterday to play New Zealand in a Tri-Nations rugby test at Wellington on Saturday.

James was rushed to New Zealand from South Africa for the match, but Springboks coach Jake White will not decide until Saturday whether James or Bosman will start in the No. 10 jersey.

White yesterday announced five changes to the South African team beaten 49-0 by Australia at Brisbane last weekend, avoiding panic but addressing shortcomings highlighted by the heavy defeat.

The South Africans will have an all-new halfback pairing whether James or Bosman plays. Fourie du Preez has replaced Ricky Januarie at scrumhalf and Bosman or James will replace Jaco van der Westhuyzen.

The backline is otherwise unchanged with Akona Ndungane holding his place on the right wing in spite of a minor shoulder injury.

Juan Smith is the only member of the loose-forward trio which played at Brisbane to hold his place. Solly Tyibilika will play ahead of Joe van Niekerk and Jacques Cronje in place of Pierre Spies.

Albert van den Bergh has been named a lock in place of the injured Danie Rossouw.

New Zealand on Tuesday made eight changes to the team which beat Australia 32-12 in the opening match of the Tri-Nations at Christchurch two weeks ago.

All Blacks coach Graham Henry said the changes did not reflect any lack of respect towards South Africa after its Brisbane drubbing.

"The other selectors and I had already decided in principle, before the match in Brisbane, about the team to play South Africa," Henry said.

"We finalized the team only after that test but the result did not materially change our plans," he said.

New South African team:

Percy Montgomery, Akona Ndungane, Jaque Fourie, Wynand Olivier, Bryan Habana, Meyer Bosman/Butch James, Fourie du Preez, Jacques Cronje, Juan Smith, Solly Tyibilika, Victor Matfield, Albert van den Bergh, C.J. Van der Linde, John Smit (captain), Os du Randt.

Reserves: Breyton Paulse/J.P. Pietersen, Bosman/James, Ricky Januarie, Joe van Niekerk, Johann Muller, Eddie Andrews, Danie Coetzee.

This story has been viewed 2152 times.

Comments will be moderated. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned.

TOP top