Thu, Jan 13, 2005 - Page 19 News List

Sports writers recognize Colts' Peyton Manning


Quarterback Peyton Manning, center, of the Indianapolis Colts during a game against the Broncos in Indianapolis on Sunday. Manning was named the NFL's MVP.


Peyton Manning's record-setting season earned him his second straight award as The Associated Press' National Football League Most Valuable Player. He was nearly a unanimous choice.

The Indianapolis Colts' quarterback, who surpassed the records of Dan Marino and Steve Young with his passing prowess in 2004, earned all but one of 48 votes from a panel of American sports writers and broadcasters who cover American football. Manning tied with Steve McNair for the award last season, but this time, besides Manning, only Atlanta Falcons quarterback Michael Vick drew a vote.

Manning joined the likes of Joe Montana, John Unitas, Steve Young and Kurt Warner as quarterbacks with two player of the year awards. Brett Favre is the only player to win it three times.

"Individually, I accomplished a lot in a short period of time," Manning said. "But no question, we did not win a Super Bowl in the time I've been here as a quarterback."

Manning threw for a record 49 touchdowns, surpassing Dan Marino's 20-year-old NFL mark and bettered Young's passer rating record -- a ranking based on several statistical categories -- with a 121.1 tally. Manning led the Colts to a 12-4 record and the AFC South division title. They routed Denver 49-24 in the first round of the playoffs -- the MVP voting was held before the postseason -- and play at New England on Sunday.

This story has been viewed 3213 times.

Comments will be moderated. Keep comments relevant to the article. Remarks containing abusive and obscene language, personal attacks of any kind or promotion will be removed and the user banned. Final decision will be at the discretion of the Taipei Times.

TOP top